Fit for a Queen

25 Jul

Last week a few friends from work and I decided to take advantage of Charlotte Restaurant Week, also known as “The Queen’s Feast”.  Since 2 of the girls were in from Florida and Georgia – we decided to head somewhere Uptown.  After glancing through the menu options of uptown restaurants – we went with Blackfinn.  We picked Blackfinn because:

A:  They were located in the heart of Uptown @ The Epicentre

B:  Their 3 options included steak, chicken, or seafood

C:  Their set menu also included 1 free adult beverage!

It was so great to catch up with friends and eat some yummy food.  I went with the Coconut Shrimp, Field Greens Salad w/balsamic vinegrette and Salmon w/aspargus.  It was delish!

Afterwards, I was feeling pretty sleepy and my feet were killing – but the girls wanted to get one more drink – so I went with them to Howl at the Moon.  Okay, seriously?  I LOOOOOVED piano bars…….in 2001.  I tolerated them in 2002.  But now?  ICK!  Especially on a Wednesday night – such a weird crowd!  Anyway, I grabbed and ice water and hung for another 20 minutes or so before calling it a night.  It was great seeing you girls!

Saturday morning we went to celebrate our good friend, Nathan who completed his first triathalon!  So inspiring!  I just kept thinking – I could do this!  What is holding me back from doing this?

His wife set up an amazing brunch for friends – so J and I rode our bikes the 5 miles to their house to eat.  It wasn’t so bad on the way there, as it was still 9 AM and maybe in the 80s.  But by the time we left, it was almost noon and it was HOOOOOOOOOT!!!  But we sucked it up and rode the 5 miles back home.  We spent the rest of the afternoon running a few errands and then hit up the pool.

That night we went to see “Inception”.  Everyone has been raving about it – so we had to see what all the fuss was about.  And quite frankly?  I didn’t love it!  In fact, I barely could stay awake through it!  Am I the only one who didn’t love it?

Today J & I set a goal to run an entire 5k with the treadmill set at 6.0.  I was determined to finish a 5k in 30 minutes – and according to the treadmill, I did it!  But according to my Nike + iPod app – my time was 32:05.  I am not sure what to believe – but I do know my speed is improving!  Maybe by Saturday I can kick it up to 6.1 or 6.2?

Busy week ahead – so I’m hittin’ the sack!

G’Nite!

Leave a Reply

