A slow run is better than no run

27 Jul

Tuesdays are my “late” days at work – where I don’t have to go in until 11 AM.  When the alarm went off this morning at 7:45 – I had 3 choices.

1 – Go back to sleep

2 – Go to the Social Security office to start the process of changing my last name

3 – Go for a run

I let the scale decide my fate.  When I stepped on the scale – I knew what I had to do.  RUN!

It doesn’t surprise me that the scale wasn’t very pretty this morning.  Last night I went to a friends to catch up.  We ordered the Isola Verda pizza from Mezzanotte – and it was sooooo yummy!  I also drank 3 Skinny Dips.  But it was great seeing friends and I made it home at a decent hour – so it was a success!

Anyway – back to this morning……..I got dressed and headed to the Y for a run.  I was happy to see one of my favorite treadmills open – so I stepped on with high hopes.  I started my run and a few minutes in I got a terrible pain in my side.  Must be the granola bar I ate before the run.  So I pressed on and ran 1 mile and decided to walk a lap.  Then I ran another mile – and the pain was still there – so I walked another lap.  Repeated again.  All in all, I got 4 miles done in about 48 minutes.  Sort of pathetic, as I’ve been trying to keep my miles at 10:00 or under – but I will not complain because I finished my goal and burned close to 600 calories.  🙂

I’ve got a busy week ahead, so tonight I have a date with my couch.

Do you eat before a run?  Does it give you a pain in the side?  How can I avoid that next time?

2 Responses to “A slow run is better than no run”

  1. Andi September 7, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    I just got into running this year. LOVE it!!! Time to time I get cramps, but usually it’s because I’m forgetting to breath right.

    • cindi September 7, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

      Probably the case – I get easily distracted by the people watching in the gym!

Leave a Reply

